Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1] 2 3
Author Topic: controller glitch questions
tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 22:45
Quote

After completeing the kit build and programming the controller there are a few things that I need to find answers to.

1. has anyone seen where P in POS is actually display a character that looks like an E with a P on the same character? Any idea how to fix?

2. when the controller is connected to the motor it seems like there is a lot of variability to the display. Take for instance if the mode is switched to DEL the display alternates between 40 -50 . If the motor is disconnected the display is rock solid at 40. It's like as if te adjut line is being loaded when the dB9 connector is attached. Any idea's where to look to resolve the issue.?

3. What are the number increments in the Dist menu when pressing in or out buttons. The manual says there is no sub mode?

4. in the videos it talks about switching between inch and cm in dist mode. Is that only set in the POS calibration?

Lets's leave it at these questions for now?

Todd

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 22:54
Quote

1) Yeah, unfortunately the new displays from sparkfun has decided to change a P to a P with an _ under it. Not sure why they made that choice, it annoys me too

2) can you link the motor you are using?... to me it sounds like some sort of a voltage drop/variance. what power supply are you using?

3) ok so that is new. that is backlash compensation. THe Chronocontroller can handle rotational axis, linear motion, and lens control. We found that some lenses have a slight degree of rotational slop on the lens mount. That is added in there to copmensate for that backlash. the number you see is the number of steps it will take at the very beginning of a routine to "reel in" the rotational play of the lens.

3) Yes, it is only done in POS calibration mode. If you are trying to work in inches you may have seen a bug where it Displays 90 when you first move to the DIST mode even when in standard. if that is the case, that can be fixed by moving to DIST and selecting a distance and pressing and holding SET until you see the word SET bump to the left. by doing that you are setting in a new default value. that also works on DEL, INT, BULB, SHOT as well. \

:)

tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:00
Quote

anther question, there is a mode where SY and ASY appear in POS in and out buttons. What do these do? The only thing in the manual is the calibration with SET and IN.

Todd

tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:02
Quote

The motor is 57BYGH013 on the short rail.

Todd

tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:05
Quote

Power supply is AC-12V brick at 1000MA rating.

Todd

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:09
Quote

The chronotimer manual?

Its on the download page, chose the 1.3.1 version. towards the bottom

http://thechronosproject.com/downloads/

RAM
● Main Mode
○ This  is for Velocity ramping  where in the resulting video the camera will speed
up and slow down at the beginning and ends of the routine.
○ This is the ramping factor added to the movement routine. Select RAMP with the
Mode dial, then using the Adjustment dial select the proper ramping factor and his
SET. For Asymmetrical Ramping you an chose from 5%­95%, with Symmetrical
you can choose OFF, 5%­50%
● Sub Mode
○ Toggle  between Symmetrical  and  Asymmetrical ramping patterns with IN and
OUT, you do NOT need to press SET to engage the selection.
○ For  more  information  on  how  the  ramping  works,  see  the  Ramping  Modes
section.
○ U = Ramping up
○ S = Steady, no Ramping’
○ D = Ramping down.
○ Symmetrical Ramping with a 25% value  looks like this.
○  
 |=====RAMP UP====|=================NO RAMP==================|=====RAMP DOWN====|
 Asymmetrical Ramping with a 25% value will look like this.
 |=====RAMP UP====|==========================RAMP DOWN============================|

As for the motor... Could be the motor, that one recommends 24 volts. I have not used that one, but generally every time the display goes wonky with the motor running it is a drop in power. could be the power source is not sufficient. .... Does the motor power on as soon as you turn it on? outside of CONT mode? unless in cont mode the motor should be powered off and quiet.,

You may also try adjusting the potentiometer on the motor driver. it might be trying to pull too much power.

Do all the controllers have this problem?

tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:26
Quote

Seems starnge that I would get Symetrical and Asymetrical while in the POS position from. It seems to get into that mode after hitting reset to stop the POS movement. Then a 1 will come up and then pressing IN OUT I get the Sy - symmetrical and ASY asymmetrical prompt. The mode dial is still in the POS position .

I'm looking through the chronotimer manual 1.3

Todd

tiddler
Newbie
Posts: 17
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:34
Quote

The P is in both controllers. The others issues I'm still just getting a handle on my learning curve, expected response and observed actions to sort out what issues I need to be aware of and which are direct results of my own actions. That underscore P is messing me up with various commands.

There is also a rdlr in the cal section that I haven't found in the manual also.

should rUnt have a t with an underscore also?

Todd

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:46
Quote

The P and the T both have the underscore. Unfortunately without out digging through the displays code and reprogramming it, its pretty much stuck that way.

Ok i misunderstood... ASY and SY show when in POS mode?.... that is most unusual. I have one of these boards i assembled and I'm not recreating this. Are you on the latest code?

So..... getting SY and ASY only happens in very specific scenarios, same with POS.

in the code, POS is only displayed when a certain value range is present on the MODE dial. There is no code that allows for ASY and SY. This makes me wonder if there is sort of a voltage spike happening when the buttons are pressed.

So the range of value in the code that will put it in the POS mode is 17-58 (within a overall range of 1-1023) RAM shows when it shows a value between 455 and 360.

a curious experiment would be to put the Test and Calibration code on, and put it in the POS mark, and press in or out and see if the MODE dial value fluctuates between 455 and 360

i would think something has to be wired up incorrectly. Do you get the proper sub modes in other places? I just loaded the 1.3.4 code (latest on the website) on mine and < and > do nothing in POS other than start the motor

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: controller glitch questions
on: May 10, 2014, 23:48
Quote

rDIR Reverse Direction On, OFF Default = OFF POS, MGO, SGO, CONT This  is  used  to  reverse  the direction of the motor  in case the motor is wired in reverse

...

That is on page six of the manual. what version of manual do you have? it is not one off sourceforge is it? it should be the one off this site.

Pages: [1] 2 3
The Chronos Project | Time Lapse Motion Control
©2013