Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 9, 2015, 18:32
Quote

Hi.

I have assembled my Chronos DIY-kit now and I cant get it to work.
The display shows what looks to me like random numbers.

Occationally I got LED, POS, GO and SGO when turining the Mode-dial.
I made sure the battery was fully charged (which it wasnt at first). But it was still the same.

I then tried to load the testing program to the arduino.
I could see the buttons working. all the values that came up were right for <- Set ->, Reset didnt have a value but the serial monitor stopped briefly and continued afterwards, when I hit the reset button on the arduino it did the same. So I guessed that it was as it should be.

I found the Mode-dial, but I couldnt see the adjust dial. the next column after mode was "Delay", is that the adjust-dial?

The values for the mode dial varied from around 60-100.
So I'm guessing it may be the potentiometers and have allready ordered a new set, just in casde.

But the wierd thing is that when I moved the face-plate with the dials and wires connected the values for mode changed.
They dropped to 0 and stayed there as long as I held it in the same place. And when I pressed one of the buttons the mode values rose to 1000.
Could it be something more than just a bad set of potentiometers? should I try and wire the whole ting again?

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 9, 2015, 18:43
Quote

Can you take some good clear photos of the board and the solder connections?

SOunds to me like something might be shorting out and causing the voltage to drop which is interfering with the display/.

you are correct, Delay is the adjust dial. Both dials should go from 0-1023. Lets see some photos of the soldering

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 9, 2015, 19:47
Quote

Ok. I'll take some photos.
I bet the soldering is pretty bad, this is actually the first time I'm doing something like this. :P
But I want to learn it. :)

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 9, 2015, 20:50
Quote

Here are the photos
Image
Image
Image

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 9, 2015, 20:51
Quote

And three more
Image
Image
Image

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 10, 2015, 15:32
Quote

I dont see anything obvious that is a problem. Could be the display switch, but if one of the pots sits around 60-100, and things change as things are moved, i would assume it is most likely a bad solder joint.

I recommend getting your solder iron real hot and just reheat the solder at each joint (skip the optoisolator as it is not the culprit and too much heat can damage it). I think the issue is probably with a resistor not having a solid connection

one thing i noticed is you have the + and - reversed from one potentiometer to the other, but that would not cause the issue.

Try reheating the solder joints and let me know, ill try to get a deeper look at the pic. the behavior is kind of funny, but in the end it always makes sense and can always be fixed :)

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 10, 2015, 17:47
Quote

Ok, I'll do that.

So both the potentiometers should be wired up the same.
Theyre not in the original diagram, and that confused me.
I'll fix that too while I'm at it.

Thanks. :)

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 10, 2015, 19:17
Quote

I heated up all the solder points. now the display just shows "2550" and occasionally blinks to "cont"

But a new strange thing happened. I added a simple display switch. And one time when I gave the arduino power it would add a zero for each time I flicked the switch. When I turned the power off and on again it was back to 2550.

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 10, 2015, 19:21
Quote

That is probably just a default value of whatever mode it is in. Turn it on, and move the mode dial, it should change with the modes. Have you loaded the default values in the calibration routine yet? (mode to POS press <- and SET at the same time, then press -> until you find DFLT and press set. let it count down then press RES)

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 11, 2015, 12:46
Quote

No, moving the mode dial (I have set up the wires correctly now) doesnt do anything.
I cant load the default values because when I press <+set it goes through some rutine and goes back to 2550.

Heres a video of what its doing now.

Edit: deleted video, after figuring out the problem I realized that it wont help anyone.
the display showed only the max values of the potentiometers at any time because they always gave of more than 1K ohm.

Pages: [1] 2
The Chronos Project | Time Lapse Motion Control
©2013