Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: 1 [2]
Author Topic: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 14, 2015, 12:04
Quote

So. I may have figured out something.

Firstly, I have been using the wrong kind of solder. I had, without knowing it, bought a 99.3% tin solder, and used that to solder everything. I have now bought a 60/40 solder and removed all the wires, and will solder them back up with the new solder, after cleaning up as much as I can.

Then I noticed that the pots had way higher resistance than they should when they where soldered.
when I measured one of them with a multimeter first it showed 1k ohm when I measured the ends.
Then I soldered it up to some loose wires (nothing else)
And now it had 40.000 ohm at the ends. I then took if the wires, tried to clean of as much as I could and soldered it back up. It now showed 15.000 ohm. Did the same thing again, and this time it got as high as 180.000 ohm.
I then tired to measure while I heated up the solder joints. And I could see it drop all the way down to 1k as it should be. And then rise back up to crazy high as the joint cooled.

Can the 99% solder have messed up my components?
Should I start buying new components?

Flozc
Newbie
Posts: 9
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 09:13
Quote

Can the 99% solder have messed up my components?

I assume that it depends on what the last 1% is, but the short answer is yes.

Tin is a semiconductor metal. That means that it will not conduct electricity as good as other metals like copper. If you have covered the pins on a resistor with tin, you have changed the characteristics of that resistor, as you experienced with the potentiometer. The result is that all the resistors have the wrong value. The same goes for the rest of the components, the characteristics is changed. This is probably the reason for the strange behavior of the controller.

One potential problem in addition is that some of the components may have been harmed by the high temperature when you heated the tin. Depending on the type of tin you used, the melting point is higher than regular soldering tin has. if you used this one:

http://www.biltema.no/no/Verktoy/Sveising-og-lodding/Loddetilbehor/Loddetinn-stang-192385/

The melting point is 325–350 °C compared with other soldering tin that has a melting point around 185-220 °C. Considering that you re-heated all the soldering point with a high temperature there is a risk that you have destroyed some of the more delicate components.

The easiest is probably to start over again with new components.....

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 18:31
Quote

I actually got it to work! :D

I replaced the potentiometers and soldered everything back up, I used the new solder this time.
And now it works as it should.

Now on to the calibration routine.

Btw, that was the solder I used. the remaining 0.7% of it was copper.
On some other electronics-forum they said it should work, and that it would only make it easyer to solder with 60x40 (witch it was.)

Thanks for all the help.
I'll probably need more soon. :P

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 18:44
Quote

Hi sorry for the late reply, i have been pulling tons of overtime. I am glad you have it working!

Flozc, thank you for the assist.

Let me know if you run into any more issues

if you post on here and dont get a reply from me in a prompt time you can always email me at projectchronoshelp@gmail.com
:)

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 20:06
Quote

Its all right. I'm a patient man. :)

I have run trough the calibration routine now, begining with setting it to default.

But the motor wont turn. It only makes a buzzing noise.
I read a bit on the forum and found a post where Mexicodirk said that a 2.2A motor is to big for the driver.
I checked and apparently I have a 2.2A motor (I bought the one in the european parts list).

It this true or are they talking about an older driver? http://thechronosproject.com/discussionforums/?mingleforumaction=viewtopic&t=11

Should I start looking for a new motor or is there other things I can check?
I have allready tried changing the motor wires around, but it was allways the same.

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 20:14
Quote

Technically too much yes, but unless running for prolonged periods it should be fine, plus the driver has a thermal cutoff, just stick a heat sink on top of the driver chip and you can get away with it. I doubt the motor is the issue.

Go get a tiny screwdriver and turn it on and try adjusting the potentiometer on the driver chip. I dont have a photo with me, but the long flat side of the potentiometer should be lined up parallel with the long side of the board. If that is a new chip, i believe you will turn it counter clockwise to this position.

We dont have to worry about that with the Chronos Lite and Lens apparatus motors as they are low power, however on the HD rail it uses a 2.1 amp motor and will generally behave exactly as expected until that potentiometer is corrected.

Another possibility, before you do that, make sure you have finished the calibration routine, loading the defaults should be fine. Depending on the motor, the motor speed may be too fast and it is just stalling which also makes that same noise. Move to CONT, and press SET to start the motor. Move the Adjust knob back and forth, the closer to 12 oclock on the adjust knob the slower it will move until it stops. if you can get NO movement from the CONT mode and it just vibrates, it is probably the potentiometer on the driver that needs some adjusting. if you DO get movement, look at the number on the display and find a comfortable speed, use that number (or something close to it) as the go-speed. Check the manual on the website to get a list of which speed adjuster is which

let me know how it goes, sounds like you are almost ready to rock n roll

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 20:17
Quote

if none of that works show me a pic of the wiring and shoot me a link for the motor

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 20, 2015, 22:20
Quote

Cool.
I'll try all that tomorrow.

I had no idea that little screw was a potentiometer! if thats what you meant.
I made a quick illustration of how I think you meant it.

is it right?
Image

Awesheim
Newbie
Posts: 21
Permalink
Post Re: C-2.0 doesnt work after assembly
on: February 21, 2015, 13:34
Quote

AHA! Its working!
I thought that I'd check the connections before I sendt you a picture. And the motor leads were all wrong and I had soldered the limit switches to the normally closed position.

It was probably trying to run earlier but the limit switches was turning it off constantly.

Now I can calibrate properly it and give it a go. :)

Pages: 1 [2]
The Chronos Project | Time Lapse Motion Control
©2013