Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1] 2 3 4 >> Last
Author Topic: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 22, 2013, 13:32
Quote

I have actively started research on Chronos in detail a few months ago and ordered the first parts about 1.5 - 2 months ago. In the last couple weeks I was basically waiting for all that stuff to arrive.

The thread in the Timescapes forums: http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=10188
Thanks to Chris, I was able to answer most of the questions I had.

I'm also blogging about the project and trying to make it easier for photographers/filmmakers/DIYers in Switzerland/Europe to build their copy, because everything here is very different in regards to parts etc.

I'm running into a problem right now though. I have ordered a TR8x1,5 (8mm diameter, 1,5 pitch) lead screw, 1250mm in length, from Igus Switzerland as well as a fitting anti-backlash nut. Though, apparently, I have ordered the wrong nut (without flange) and they do not have the right one (with flange) at all. So the one I have now is practically impossible to screw on the nut housing I ordered from Chris or directly on the carriage, since it has no flange.

After hours and hours of googling, writing emails and making calls, I still haven't found a good solution. I'd like to keep my current lead screw, and I'd prefer to use Chris's nut housing, though I can live without this. There seem to be a couple (not many, not in Switzerland) flange nuts out there, though they don't fit Chris's nut housing.

Therefore I'm thinking of trying to find something like this instead: http://qtecstore.com/pages/leadscrew_nuts.html
They don't have any 8x1,5 there but only 8x1,25 and 10x5, but maybe I'll find the right one somewhere else...which I could then - hopefully - screw to Chris's carriage and go without the nut housing. I'm a bit concerned though, that this won't fit because the height will be different and I'm using Chris's end brackets.

What do you think?

Thanks,
Fabian

fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 28, 2013, 09:03
Quote

I'm having some issues at the moment, besides the anti-backlash nut problem I'm still trying to find a way around.

After finishing soldering the Chronocontroller, I downloaded the Arduino Uno drivers and uploaded the code (tried both the new beta release and the January code) to the Arduino (after removing the Shield). Now sometimes the 7 segment display remains black/off completely, sometimes it displays 00:00:00 and sometimes it just displays a single zero. Also, the motor will not move or make a sound at all, regardless of how I turn the control knobs and press the buttons.

I will check my assembly step by step with the Chronos construction manual tonight, if I find time, though I did everything really carefully in the first place so I cannot think of any big mistakes there.

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 28, 2013, 14:06
Quote

Di you have the RX pin on the display connected to pin 1?

it should be pin 1. there is an older set of instructions floating around.

fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 28, 2013, 19:47
Quote

I have connected to pin 12, that might be it! I've just downloaded the latest construction manual and noticed that I had downloaded the old version a while ago. Gonna change it and hope nothing has been damaged.. Thanks for pointing this out!

UPDATE:
The display seems to work now and displays the modes when I turn the control knob.

Regarding calibration: in the serial monitor I get the following values:

1001-1004 for the IN button
984-987 for the SET button
840-842 for the OUT button
(nothing for the RESET button)

Though in the code, you have the following lines, which - I guess - need to be changed:

  if ((BUTTONval >= 835) && (BUTTONval <= 845)){
    OUTbutton = 100;   
    INbutton = 50;   
  }
  if ((BUTTONval >= 970) && (BUTTONval <= 990)) {
    STARTbutton = 100;
    OUTbutton = 50;
    INbutton = 50;
  }
  if ((BUTTONval >= 998) && (BUTTONval <= 1002)) {
    OUTbutton = 50;   
    INbutton = 100;   
  }
  if ((BUTTONval >= 1009) && (BUTTONval <= 1011)) {
    PROGbutton = 100; 
  }

So the first is the OUT, third is the IN. But what about the oters?

The motor still won't make a noise or move at all, regardless of what button I press and what I set on the control knob. Hmm I'll have to check the wiring...

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 29, 2013, 20:47
Quote

Did you run through the intial caliobration routine in the POS mode? That needs to be done for it to understand speeds.

http://thechronosproject.com/chronos-calibration-instructions-and-profiles/

fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: May 30, 2013, 21:42
Quote

I'll have a look and try to do this all in the right order, thanks once more!

fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: June 1, 2013, 13:13
Quote

Hm it does not seem to keep the values I'm entering when in calibration mode. I uploaded the ChronoTimer code, turned the knob to POS mode, entered all the values as described on your website and turned the knob to CONT mode. Nothing happens when pressing the SET button now. WHen pressing the <- button the display reads SetA, when pressing -> it's SetB.

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: June 3, 2013, 04:23
Quote

Do you have a multimeter? Need to see if you are getting power to the moyor driver board. Can we see some pics of the protoboard and wiring?

fabians.ch
Beginner
Posts: 49
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: June 3, 2013, 10:11
Quote

Unfortunately not, maybe I should buy one... I'll post some pics later today when I get home.

Chris@Chro-
nos
Administrator
Posts: 137
Permalink
Post Re: My Chronos Build - fabians.ch
on: June 3, 2013, 20:34
Quote

you might need to.
even without any calibration the POS should still work. Once calibraated all the movement routines should work.
is the motor seizing at all? or is it completely unresponsive?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 >> Last
The Chronos Project | Time Lapse Motion Control
©2013